Construction of the original Chumon, or Middle Gate, of Danjo Garan Complex in Kōyasan, began in 819. As with many of the complex’s buildings, the gate was destroyed many times by fire. During the great fire of 1843 the gate burned right down to its foundation stones and remained this way for over 170 years.
In 2015 it was finally rebuilt, as part of a project to celebrate the 1200th anniversary of Kōyasan. In addition to the two original statues that were saved from the fire, two new statues were carved to make a complete set of four Guardian Kings. They are now enshrined in the gate, which stands in front of the Kon-dō.
- Koyasan and Kumano Access Bus
- UNESCO World Heritage Koyasan Leaflet in English
- Koyasan Reihokan Museum Leaflet in English
- Dai Garan Kongobuki Koyasan leaflet
- Kongobuji Temple Leaflet
- Guide to Koyasan
- Kōyasan – the 1200th Anniversary Since The Foundation