The Chapter House was the main meeting room of the canons as the governing body of the cathedral priory. It was a magnificent building and a religious powerhouse, which was rebuilt by Bishop William Lamberton in time for the burial of Prior John of Forfar in 1321.
The canons met here daily to read a chapter of the rule by which they lived, to confess their faults and to receive correction. Moreover, it was where they discussed the administration, and business affairs of the cathedral.
Priors favoured the chapter house for burial and several of their graves have been revealed by excavations. The prior was a powerful political figure and his main duty was to run all the religious services. His officials (obedientaries) supplied the canon’s vestments, candles and incense and insured the wafers were baked and the wine was brewed.
- Information signs at St Andrews Cathedral
- Official Souvenir Guide: St Andrews Castle, Cathedral and Historic Burgh