Kiyomizu Kannon-do is one of the most frequently visited temples in Ueno Park, Tokyo. The temple is primarily dedicated to Senju-Kannon Bosatsu and Kosodate Kannon. It enshrines an image of Kosodate Kannon, the protectress of childbearing and child-raising. Women wishing to conceive leave a leave a doll here for the 1000-armed goddess and those who have their wishes fulfilled return to pray for their child’s good health and protection.
Originally built in 1631 as part of the Kaneji Temple. Its design, including a wooden balcony extending from the hillside, was inspired by Koyomizudera in Kyoto. Today it is recognised and celebrated as one of the oldest surviving temples in Tokyo.
The main platform of the temple overlooks Tsuki-no-matsu (a circular shaped pine tree known as “The Pine Tree of the Moon”), the Shinobazu pond and the Benten-do Temple. The temple grounds house historical monuments such as the Shushiki Sakura (Shushiki Cherry Tree) and Shushiki Kuhi haiku stones.
Once a year, on September the 25th, a requiem service is held for all the dolls at the temple, after which they are burned in an annual bonfire.
Opening hours: 7:00 to 17:00, seven days a week.