Located in Stornoway on the Isle of Lewis, Lews Castle was built in the mid 1800s by the wealthy Sir James Matheson, who purchased the Isle of Lewis in 1844. The castle has since been used as a hospital, a college and a school. Today the castle is home to the new Museum and Archive, where visitors can learn about the history and culture of the Outer Hebrides.
The castle grounds cover over 270 hectares of woodland, parkland and gardens. Within the grounds is the Woodland Centre, which has a shop, cafeteria and information on the castle. Paths lead through the grounds to vantage points overlooking the town and the coast.
Overlooking Stornoway harbour is Lady Matheson’s Memorial, which was erected by Lady Matheson in memory of her husband. The pillars of the memorial are adorned by poppy heads, acknowledging the large profits his company made from the opium industry.