This hexagonal-shaped sutra repository was originally built in 1159 to house a complete copy of the Buddhist scriptures, written in gold ink.
The building was lost in the fire of 1843, rebuilt in 1884, and lost again in the fire that consumed the Kondo in 1926. The existing building was rebuilt in 1934. The 1884 building itself could be revolved but the present building was constructed so that the outer rim alone revolves.
- Koyasan and Kumano Access Bus
- UNESCO World Heritage Koyasan Leaflet in English
- Koyasan Reihokan Museum Leaflet in English
- Dai Garan Kongobuki Koyasan leaflet
- Kongobuji Temple Leaflet
- Guide to Koyasan
- Kōyasan – the 1200th Anniversary Since The Foundation